Home>About Harbin

Harbin city experiences huge development changes

Updated : 2021-06-16

By ( e.my399.com )

Harbin, the capital city of China's northernmost Heilongjiang province, has experienced significant changes in its administrative divisions since China's reform and opening-up – a reflection of the city's booming economy.

On Sept 4, 1996, the Songhua River area merged with the previous Harbin city to form the new Harbin city. 

In doing so, the administrative divisions of Harbin became comprised of seven districts and 12 counties and county-level cities, adding Shuangcheng, Shangzhi and Wuchang cities, as well as Bayan, Mulan, Tonghe and Yanshou counties.

After the merger, Harbin became the largest provincial capital by land area in the country and the city with the largest total grain output in the country. It has the fifth-largest population in the country and the 15th-largest GDP in the country.

In February 2004, Harbin set up Songbei district and Hulan district and canceled Taiping district.

In May 2014, Harbin changed its administrative divisions again, with the cancelation of Shuangcheng city and the creation of Shuangcheng district.

Currently, Harbin governs nine districts: Daoli, Daowai, Nangang, Xiangfang, Pingfang, Songbei, Hulan, Acheng and Shuangcheng. It also oversees seven counties, namely Bayan, Binxian, Yilan, Yanshou, Mulan, Tonghe and Fangzheng, as well as two county-level cities – Wuchang and Shangzhi.

As of Nov 1, 2020, Harbin ha a population of 10 million.

Harbin ramps up childcare services

A new comprehensive service center for childcare in Harbin is expected to be finished by the end of the year.